Solidarity & Songstress

After a day of activism in 2011, I was so moved that I had to write something. These two haiku are all I could get out, perhaps because the emotions I felt were beyond words.

I marched with Project SALAM, The Muslim Solidarity Committee, Albany UU, and other allies to show support for Yassin Aref, Mohammed Hossain, their families, and all others who are wrongly persecuted and imprisoned for terrorist activities. After the march, we gathered at the Grand St. Art Center for music and dinner. Taina Asili sang some powerful words that night, and I was blown away.

These marches have been going on since 2006 and will continue until Aref and Hossain are released, in 2018 and 2020 respectively.  The 11th Anniversary Commemoration of the Arrests of Yassin Aref & Mohammed Hossain with a rally, speakers, dinner, march, and movie will take place on Monday, August 3. It will begin at the Masjid As-Salam Mosque on 280 Central Avenue, Albany and end at the Linda on 339 Central Avenue, Albany.

 I.

Solidarity

Marching in hot sun.

Different colors, age, and faith.

Happily join as one.

 

II.

Songstress

Her voice cuts through me.

Overpowering steamy night.

In this sacred place.

 © J. Rae

 Yassin Aref Book

About All My Guts and Soul

food, feelings, freedom, etc...
This entry was posted in Poet, Social Justice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.