Cold Nettle Tea

This is a great beverage to have around in the summer! Nettles are good for you. Well– maybe. I recently heard from someone who is terribly sensitive to them. If you are prone to sensitivities, try a little weak tea and see how it goes in the next several days.

I purchased mine dry from the local co-op, but you can also collect them yourself in the wild, very carefully.

I’m most intrigued by it’s ability to help anemia. I’m often an exhausted bumbling idiot before, during and after my period. I think one word and type another. It gets frustrating to communicate, and sometimes I’m a little testy. These are perfect times for me to make this delicious tea.

Maybe it’ll make my skin lovely and help my gut too.  “Curb the action of cytokines”, just what this Crohnie wants to hear. Putting the water on to boil now!

I was amazed with how close to mainstream iced tea this tasted. Of course my taste-buds are no longer mainstream.

Blurry webcam photo soon to replace this lovely stock photo. :p

Cold Nettle Tea

Please visit 20 Something Allergies for her original recipe as well as a nutritional breakdown and list of healing properties for nettles.

I like to prepare a pitcher at a time as follows:

6 c water
6 t nettle leaf (up to 6 T for a strong tea)
6 t rose hips (I ground mine.)
Sweetener to taste (2 scoops stevia extract, maple, whatever floats your boat)

Boil 2 quarts of water in pot, add nettle leaf and rose hips in a large tea ball or muslin bag. Steep with cover on at least 10 min. After it’s cooled, transfer to a 2 quart glass jar and refrigerate.

About All My Guts and Soul

food, feelings, freedom, etc...
This entry was posted in Liquid, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.