Paleo & Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

These are deliciously soft and chewy with a little bit of crispiness. Thanks to The Preppy Paleo for her recipe.

Here’s how I made them:

  • 2 c almond butter
  • 1/2 c coconut milk
  • 2 T maple syrup
  • 2 t vanilla
  • 2/3 c Enjoy Life chocolate chips (or a little less) *may substitute with raisins or other dried fruit
  • 1 c finely shredded coconut
  • 2 T ground chia
  • 1 c soaked and dried pecans
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 2 pinches of sea salt
  • 4 t cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Process pecans until they are chunky. Set aside. Add all other ingredients except for the chocolate chips to a food processor. Process until well blended. Add chocolate chips and pecans 1/4 c at a time and pulse briefly between additions. Scoop dough by the tablespoon and drop on a cookie sheet lined with parchment. Flatten each cookie a little with the back of the tablespoon. Bake 15 minutes. Cool thoroughly. Chill in refrigerator or freezer.

Those who have made it through the provocation process with nuts, seeds, and chocolate without any issues may enjoy this treat. Those who have not can make them for their paleo friends, vegan friends, or friends with egg, gluten, or dairy allergies or sensitivities.

Update on my self-care: It’s tricky. Meditation, breathing, writing, therapy, eating well, sleeping well, and stepping back are all really important.

I’ve been mainlining chocolate lately. I can feel the effects too. It makes me uncomfortably excited and disrupts my sleep. Damn, I should change this blog’s name to “Confessions of a Raging Chocoholic.” I do wonder what’s in it that makes my body crave it so. Sugar and caffeine for energy? Magnesium? I’ve got to get a proper magnesium supplement. I have not forgotten that it’s a gluten cross-reactor and a seed that contains phytic acid, caffeine, and theobromine. Update: I’m learning a lot about histamines (chocolate is high in this compound) with this great book, Don’t Let Anything Dull Your Sparkle. A lot more sleep could help reduce cravings too. I’m noticing that seaweed is making a big difference in hormonal issues, so I’ve been sprinkling kelp powder on everything.

Warning: not AIP or low-FODMAP

About All My Guts and Soul

food, feelings, freedom, etc...
This entry was posted in Recipes, Sweet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.