The Human Cost of Freedom: Thoughts for the 4th

Good read for the holiday weekend:

bay witch musings

If you are American, particularly if you are a white American, male, Christian (especially if you are Protestant), and most definitely if you are rich; basically, if you have any of the markers in our society of possessing what is called privilege (and certainly there are others–if you are straight, thin, attractive, able-bodied, you too have privilege in our society), you should take the time to read Howard Zinn’s A People’s History of the United States.  For me, it is something that I take the time to read and reread every few years, but I truly think every American should read it at least once, because it is eye-opening and instructive, in a way that very little of the history you learned in school was, particularly on the matter of how this country was actually built.  There is a lot I considered saying here…in defense of my own privilege…

View original post 1,820 more words

About All My Guts and Soul

food, feelings, freedom, etc...
This entry was posted in Social Justice and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.