Chocolate Zucchini Bread Minis

I tried out this recipe from PaleOMG for the chocolate zucchini bread. I’m making desserts for a potluck, so I thought minis would be nice.

Here’s my experience:

2 small zucchini were slightly over 1.5 cups before pressing. I choose to squeeze the zucchini in my hand over a fine strainer. Afterwards I pressed the zucchini into the strainer with my hand. I held the strainer over a bowl to catch the juice, which is full of magnesium and stuff—so DRINK IT. I’m dreaming of a zucchini juice with lemon and ginger, and maybe some avocado. Yum.

Next time I’m trying 3-4 eggs to make up for it’s lack of bread quality and to add some moisture. It was more like a brownie consistency.

I found that 1 3/4 c of sun butter was basically a whole 16 oz. jar, so skip the measuring unless you are making the sun butter homemade or have a bigger jar. I highly recommend making it homemade if you have the right equipment because my sun butter cost 6 bucks and change. This is expensive zucchini bread.

Unless you’re not into sweet at all, use 2/3-1 c of honey because this wasn’t even close to sweet. I know —  it’s bread. I have a sweet tooth.

I’m doubling the cocoa as well next time. It tasted more like sun butter than chocolate.

I was wondering if I should sift the coconut flour first, but I didn’t. My batter was more like play dough and it was not so moist, so I think next time I will sift the coconut flour first.

So I reduced the heat to 325 for the 24- to- a- silicon pan minis and baked them for 20 minutes. They came out a little dry. I also made some larger minis. These were 12- to- a-nonstick pan. I cooked them for 20 minutes as well. I think I will try 10 minutes for the mini-minis and 15 for the larger ones next time, so they will have more moisture.

I want to come up a nice frosting to make up for the lack of sweet and moist. This frosting didn’t cut it. I used palm shortening for the first time, and I’m not sure I like it. I also know I never want to use date sugar in frosting again. It was too chewy.

I like the simplicity of this recipe, and that it is paleo and nut-free. I will try it again and update this post with my findings.

Ok, I just learned something new. My baking powder isn’t fresh enough. My next batch will probably come out much better with some new baking powder.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread Bites

Cute heart shapes!

Juice from squeezing the zucchini pulp

About All My Guts and Soul

food, feelings, freedom, etc...
This entry was posted in Recipes, Sweet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.