4-18-17

chill lamb

the sweet life

Oddly folks have been looking at my website and facebook page. Hopefully, not the same folks – that would be creepy. It’s odd because I don’t post regularly. It’s seems I un-publish more than I publish. I took down four poems today. The reason is good I think. I’ve submitted them to journals.

I’m writing this random post for the random person who visits my silly site. I don’t know what people are thinking when they visit. I try to be as uninteresting as possible, and I think I do an exceptional job.

I’m hoping to publish something this year – to a journal that doesn’t know me. I’m trying to take my work semi-seriously, which is something I don’t normally do.  I take myself much too seriously though. I’m learning that I might not be a poet, not yet. I’ve learned that I’m not going to get better at it if I’m not writing and reading. I get serendipitous insights just by practicing. I’m pretty good at observing and emoting, but that doesn’t make a poet. Maybe I missed my calling as an actress. I might have. My two attempts were ill-timed.

I just went to a poetry reading. Cool stuff. I just wish people would enunciate and speak slower. I get tense trying to take it all in. I’ve always been this way, with music and reading as well. It’s as if my bandwidth doesn’t have the same range as the average human. I’m slower than the rest of the world. I hope this uniqueness pays off in some way. I listened to the cards today and joined a group activity. I couldn’t get out of there fast enough though. I’m more of a one-on-one person.

I just worked on my writing prompt for a good stretch. Now to hone it into a poem. It was fun.

So my boring life of late is consisting of physical therapy for an incessantly tense neck which started to mess with my ability to type. I can type alright again, but I’m still sore and tense. I guess it will be an ongoing battle needing regular stretching and strength training. I’ve started going to the gym because I guess I care about high cholesterol. I bet they’ll say it’s not a thing ten years from now. I needed more exercise, especially since I can’t give up chocolate.

I volunteer on a farm once in a while. It is hard work, but I get so much out of it.

forsythia

things you find on the way to the outhouse

I fuss over living in affordable housing for the elderly and disabled. I get tired of giving a shit about the nut-balls and perverts, the lack of privacy, respect, and peace and quiet. I’ve got a home and that’s a lot. I’ve got some great plants. Most of them have names.

I occasionally write posts about the food co-op I belong to on another site. I don’t know if it’s worth it. The drama is ridiculous, but we’re still here. That’s something.

I’m going to an NVC practice group, and practicing NVC. Can you tell I’m tired?

I’m corresponding with potential friends I meet on stupid dating sites. It’s more of a bother than anything. It turns out the same in the end. I’m Eeyore! I love Eeyore, so that’s something.

I made a big batch of chicken soup. Most of my efforts are toward balance. This leaves little time for progress. Sometimes I wonder what it’s all about. Don’t you?

About All My Guts and Soul

food, feelings, freedom, etc...
This entry was posted in Feelings, Vent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.