A Poem for National Poetry Month

Hi! I’ve noticed folks are going crazy posting poetry. Maybe that’s because I tend to follow the blogs of poets, but I think that April being National Poetry month has a little more to do with it. So one hour left to the month and I will share one of my poems with you.

I’m choosing the poem, Tulip Fest, because I was at the park yesterday and found the tulips out full force. Spring is in full force too. It was a grey and slightly chilly day, but people were all over the park enjoying it. Nature definitely is a balm for depression. The lilacs, violets, and magnolias are out. I made sure to bring samples home.

The Halfmoon Market was going on as well at the Lake House. I was drawn by the sound of a woman singing in French, like Edith Piaf. When I got there, the music was gone, but there were all kinds of neat crafts and foods made by hipsters. It’s cool seeing people getting back to the Earth, even if it is still capitalism. I’m reminded that I might want to keep some of my diy secrets under wraps in case I decide to capitalize on them.

Perhaps this poem needs a little background for non-Albanians. There is a Tulip Fest in Albany every year – something started in an attempt to impress a Dutch Queen I hear, or maybe it has something to do with the Dutch heritage of Albany. Anyway, it draws a lot of people and it sometimes has a bit of a festival atmosphere (like the modern use of the word festival – which includes drunkenness, pot smoking, and pathetic attempts to attract attention). I’m sure they’re having fun too and many stay sober.

Does anyone else hate wordpress’ inability to keep the intended format?! Imagine this poem without the extra spaces.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tulip Fest

tulips that look like roses

tulips that look like fringe

white tulips

black tulips

pale peach tulips

bright coral tulips

brassy red tulips

butter – cream – tulips

 

Tulips look better without the crowds.

 

sea of people with nothing to do,

but stare at each other

buy some grease

and a trinket or two

 

Buy a bonsai.

Don’t let it die.

 

food

bad food –

lots!

 

sloppy drunks

Men – staring at my tits

declaring, I must pay them attention!

 

Yes– I’ll take your photos–

happy, young, sweet couple.

That’s what odd old gals like me

are for.

 

sweet babies

in their strollers

sweet babies

in the grass

puppies and babies

in the grass

 

grass wafting in the air

 

tiny dancer in the grass

Pure joy!

That kid can feel the music!

 

The colors are beautiful,

but I’ve had enough.

I go – in gratitude.

 

© J. Rae

 

 

About All My Guts and Soul

food, feelings, freedom, etc...
This entry was posted in Poet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.